Bray Sweet Pea Championship   Notes provided by John Markham

1. John Warren, Malahide, is the 2010 Bray Sweet Pea Champion. In previous years Maria Melvin, Ardee, has dominated this championship but like a number of other exhibitors her flowers did not feature this year largely due to bud drop. This was also a problem for local exhibitors John Markham and Ellen O’Neill.

2. John Warren’s blooms were clearly of a much higher standard in all five Classes. His three vases of Glasnevin, Lynn Davey and Gwendoline were awarded the Bray Sweet Pea Championship Trophy and he obtained maximum points to win Bray & DHS Perpetual Challenge Cup for most points.

3. Mary McDaid, Dalkey, was the only exhibitor to feature in the ‘less than 60 plants’ Class and her bowl took the Turton  Perpetual Challenge Cup.

4. Sweet Pea entries were markedly down on previous years but John Warren’s blooms brought with them that great promise of better Shows to come.

John Warren   for Class 28       Bray Sweet Pea Championship Trophy for best in classes 26 to 30.

John Warren                            Bray & DHS Perpetual Challenge Cup for most points in classes 26 to 30.

Mary McDaid                            Turton  Perpetual Challenge Cup for best exhibit in class 31.

Exhibitors and Exhibits at Bray, July 2010
Introduction > Latest Info.  >  Past Shows > Marlay Park  2010
Past Years' Shows Past Years' Shows Past Years' Shows